Book Review: The Providence of Fire

Brian Staveley’s Providence of Fire, the second novel in the Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne, a gripping new epic fantasy series in the tradition of Brandon Sanderson and George R. R. Martin.
The conspiracy to destroy the ruling family of the Annurian Empire is far from over.

Having learned the identity of her father’s assassin, Adare flees the Dawn Palace is search of allies to challenge the coup against her family. Few trust her, but when she is believed to be touched by Intarra, patron goddess of the empire, the people rally to help her retake the capital city. As armies prepare to clash, the threat of invasion from barbarian hordes compels the rival forces to unite against their common enemy.

Unknown to Adare, her brother Valyn, renegade member of the empire’s most elite fighting force, has allied with the invading nomads. The terrible choices each of them has made may make war between them inevitable.

Between Valyn and Adare is their brother Kaden, rightful heir to the Unhewn Throne, who has infiltrated the Annurian capital with the help of two strange companions. The knowledge they possess of the secret history that shapes these events could save Annur or destroy it.

 

Rating: 

A+

For those of you who have been following me for some time, you know that I don’t fangirl often…or lightly. I’m a decidedly picky reader. And the pet peeves, lawd the literary pet peeves I have. It’s rare that a book comes along and blows my frigging mind. It’s even rarer when an author can pull this off not once, but twice.

Brian Staveley pulled this off. Hard. Wanna know how good this book is?

Disney greeter: WELCOME TO THE MOST MAGICAL PLACE ON EARTH!

Me:

Family: Let’s pass the time standing in line for this super fun ride by interacting with each other.

Me:

Family: Oh look, an aquarium!

Me:

Family: Sombreros!

Me:

Family: We’re starving, let’s have lunch in front of this incredible backdrop.

Me:

Family: Look, vikings!

Me:

Family: Foo dogs!

Me (after one too many plum wines):

Family: Ooh, pretty buildings!

Me:

Family: It’s raining, take shelter!

Me:

Family: Beeeeeer!

Me:

Mom: THAT’S IT, GIVE ME THE GODDAMN BOOK!

We went on to have a lovely vacation. And enjoyed a lot of quality family time. Because they hid the book from me…


2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Providence of Fire

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s